Unfortunately, a fire in 1746 completely destroyed the church, which was rebuilt the following year in the style visible today.The church, that was attached to a convent and originally Gothic, retains traces of its original construction but has undergone several modifications over the centuries. In the 16th century, the original portal was sealed (still visible today in its grandeur) and a new stone portal was created.The faҫade is simple, with a gabled structure and a large rectangular window above the Renaissance portal, framed by a pointed arch which is clearly Gothic in style. The bell tower, surmounted by a distinctive bulb-shaped dome, was designed by Guglielmo Meluzzi, the architect responsible for designing several prominent buildings after the unification of Italy.
Inside, the church has a single nave with Baroque decorations reflecting its restoration after the fire. The interior features a vaulted ceiling and six side chapels, three on each side, separated by eight double pilasters supporting a high cornice on which the roof is inserted. A triumphal arch marks the presbytery area, accessible by climbing three stone steps.One notable element is the lunette depicting “Christ in Piety with Angels,” attributed to Gerolamo di Benvenuto, a Sienese painter. This piece, once displayed above the main altar, is now preserved in the Civic Diocesan Museum.The cloister of the adjoining monastery retained its 16th-century character until the last century when, with the forfeiture of ecclesiastical property by the Italian state, it first became the seat of a military command, and later, in the early 20th century, the premises of a primary school.
#Trevinano
#Centeno e Proceno
#Parco Monte Rufeno
#Torre Alfina
#Acquapendente
Copyright © 2024 - Trevinano - All rights reserved.
Designed By: Euromedia